Follow Us on Social Media

What are the 7 Spiritual Gifts & Their Meanings?

What are the 7 Spiritual Gifts?

What are the 7 Spiritual Gifts?

Beyond the exposition of biblical passages, bible scholars have over the years, identified systematic truths collected from the and placed them in groups: e.g., “the seven deadly sins,” “the seven virtues.” But perhaps the most famous of these biblical references applied to discipleship resources are the “seven gifts of the Holy Spirit.”

So what are these seven (7) Spiritual gifts?
The seven (7) Spiritual gifts are:
The Seven (7) Spiritual Gifts are extracted from the book of Isaiah 11:2-3

The Spirit of the LORD shall rest upon Him, The Spirit of wisdom and understanding, The Spirit of counsel and might, The Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD. His delight is in the fear of the LORD, And He shall not judge by the sight of His eyes, Nor decide by the hearing of His ears

Most recently in “Walking with Jesus: A Way Forward for the Church”, the Bishop of Rome, Pope Francis (Jorge Mario Bergoglio, b. 1936), taught on the Seven Gifts. His writing helps us to understand Roman Catholic devotional practice as he applies the gifts resting on the Messiah to those received by believers as they confess Jesus Christ as Lord. he says:

“In the Book of Isaiah 11:2-3, the Gifts of the Holy Spirit are described. In the passage, the gifts are considered ones that the Messiah would have possessed. Through Jesus, we also receive the Gifts of the Holy Spirit in the Sacrament of Confirmation.

In continuation, he adduced the biblical meanings of the Seven (7) Spiritual Gifts.
Wisdom helps us recognize the importance of others and the importance of keeping God central in our lives. 
Understanding is the ability to comprehend the meaning of God’s message. 
“Knowledge is the ability to think about and explore God’s revelation, and also to recognize there are mysteries of faith beyond us. 
Counsel is the ability to see the best way to follow God’s plan when we have choices that relate to him.
 “Fortitude is the courage to do what one knows is right. 

“Piety helps us pray to God in true devotion. 
“Fear of the Lord is the feeling of amazement before God, who is all-present, and whose friendship we do not want to lose.
Dr. Michael A. Milton. Are believers given Seven gifts of the Holy Spirit?. March 9, 2020.
Share this:

0 thoughts on “What are the 7 Spiritual Gifts & Their Meanings?”

Leave a Comment